In 1971 J. Standard Baker Quoted " Drivers Towing Trailers  Are Four (4) Times As Unsafe As Those In Cars Alone! 

I called the owner of the Company...

  • No Safety Chains Connected
  • No Breakaway Cable Connected
  • Wrong Size Ball
  • Wrong Size Hitch
  • No Hitch Pin

Why does this keep happening and why does my own Government seek to destroy our cause?

By Larry Penkava lpenkava@courier-tribune.com Twitter: @larrypenkavaCT
Posted Aug 29, 2017 at 5:26 PM Updated Aug 29, 2017 at 7:24 PM

ASHEBORO — A tractor-trailer ran head-on into a trailer that had become separated from the truck pulling it Monday morning.

According to an accident report filed by Trooper D.S. Payne of the N.C. Highway Patrol, a 2007 Freightliner owned by KD On-Time of Fuquay-Varina and driven by Douglas Lee Smith, 38, of 5623 N.C. 49 S., Denton, was traveling north on N.C. 49 near Dunbar Bridge Road at approximately 7:20 a.m. Monday. At the same time, George Thompson Trollinger, 54, of 1692 Ken Lee Court, Asheboro, was traveling south in a 2006 Ford truck pulling a trailer.

The trailer became separated from the Ford truck and crossed the center line, striking the Freightliner head-on before traveling onto the east shoulder, striking a guardrail and coming to rest partially in the road. The Freightliner came to rest in the roadway.

There were four passengers in the Ford truck, owned by Carolina Metal Erectors of Asheboro. They included Jonathan Ray McDonald, 49, of 4567 Buffalo Ford Road, Asheboro; Christopher Scott Carr, 30, of 2308 U.S. 64 E., Asheboro; John Michael Carr, 22, of 158 Dublin Square Road, Asheboro; and Scottie Alan Carter, 35, of 2945 Sharon Drive, Asheboro. No one was injured in the accident.



Contact Us

General Questions
Use this number if you are uncertain to whom your question should be addressed.
(336) 625-2101

Newsletter
Sign up for our newsletter and have the top headlines from your community delivered right to your inbox.

Address
500 Sunset Ave., Asheboro, NC 27203

Advertising

Advertising Manager

Paula Mauney

336-626-6145

pjmauney@courier-tribune.com

Business

Business Manager

Alaina Lambert

336-626-6141

alambert@courier-tribune.com

Circulation

Circulation Manager

David Berrier

336-626-6130

dberrier@courier-tribune.com

Classified Advertising

Classified Manager

Brenda Poole

336-626-6154

bpoole@courier-tribune.com

Executives

General Manager

Todd Benz

336-626-6101

tbenz@courier-tribune.com

Publisher

Paul Mauney

336-626-6147

PMauney@thetimesnews.com

News

Photo Editor

Paul Church

336-626-6129

pchurch@courier-tribune.com

Sports Editor

Dennis Garcia

336-626-6133

dgarcia@courier-tribune.com

Editor

Annette Jordan

336-626-6115

ajordan@courier-tribune.com